Malcolm Turnbull becomes the new Australian Prime Minister

Australian politics is a real blood sport as Tony Abbott becomes the second Prime Minister to be ousted by his party in his first term.

He was challenged by his Communications Minister, Malcolm Turnbull for the leadership and was defeated 54-44.

Turnbull was supported by the current Foreign Minister and Deputy Liberal leader, Julie Bishop. Bishop was herself challenged for the Deputy Leadership but was re-elected 70 votes for to 30 against her.

Turnbull came to prominence during his role as the lawyer for Peter Wright in the Spy-Catcher trial. He also led the failed push for Australia to become a republic 1999.

He previously served as Liberal leader from 2008-09, but lost out to Tony Abbott by one vote in December 2009.

After a brief period on backbench, Turnbull joined Abbott’s front bench and was appointed to the cabinet when the Coalition won the 2013 election.

Today was the sixth leadership ballot in a sitting Prime Minister in just five years.

Discover more from Slugger O'Toole

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.

We are reader supported. Donate to keep Slugger lit!

For over 20 years, Slugger has been an independent place for debate and new ideas. We have published over 40,000 posts and over one and a half million comments on the site. Each month we have over 70,000 readers. All this we have accomplished with only volunteers we have never had any paid staff.

Slugger does not receive any funding, and we respect our readers, so we will never run intrusive ads or sponsored posts. Instead, we are reader-supported. Help us keep Slugger independent by becoming a friend of Slugger. While we run a tight ship and no one gets paid to write, we need money to help us cover our costs.

If you like what we do, we are asking you to consider giving a monthly donation of any amount, or you can give a one-off donation. Any amount is appreciated.